DeLand Regional Library
130 E Howry Ave, DeLand, FL 32724 (386) 822-6430

Teen Summer Reading Kick-off:
3 p.m. Monday, June 5. Help us recycle various materials as we create “bad art.” Create the worst piece of art you can imagine for a shot at taking home the bad art trophy. Grades 6-12.

Children’s Summer Reading Kick-off: 3 p.m. Wednesday, June 7. Children will watch the balloon masters from Big Idea Balloons work their magic in making balloon animals! Then they can take part in a fun craft, get their face painted, and pick up a summer reading kit. Birth to 12 years old.

 

Teen Trivia: 3 p.m. Monday, June 12. Test your knowledge and compete to win prizes. Grades 6-12.

Helping-hands Crafts: 10:30 a.m. Mondays, June 12, 19 and 26; and July 3, 10 and 17. Join us as we make pet toys for shelter animals, blankets for infants, and care packages for soldiers.Children and teens.

Mad Science: 3 p.m. Wednesday, June 14. Join us for Mad Science’s “Build a Better World – Shipwrecked!”  Mad scientists have been stranded on a deserted island and need you
to help them build a new world! Learn about shapes, structures and engineering as you help to create this new desert paradise. Ages 5-12.

 

 

Rock Painting: 3 p.m. Thursday, June 15. Paint a rock and take it home to enjoy or hide it in downtown DeLand for other children to find!  #DeLandRocks. Ages 5-12.

Our Vital Earth: 3 p.m. Friday, June 16. Create your own worm farm to take home. Registration is required; call 386-822-6430. Ages 8-14.

Candy Sushi: 3 p.m. Monday, June 19. Bring your sweet tooth and ingenuity as we create yummy treats! Grades 6-12.

MAGIC SHOW! 3 p.m. Wednesday, June 21. Experi-ence the astonishing feats of magician Cesar Domico
as he thrills and delights participants! Ages 5-12.

Less is More: 3 p.m. Thursday, June 22. It only takes a few simple ingredients to make ice cream! Ages 5-12.

 

Chemistry Lab: 3 p.m. Friday, June 23. Learn about water, one of our most important resources. We will discover the differences in water samples, participate in a four-liter challenge, and make a craft. Reservations are required; call 386-822-6430. Ages 8-14.

 

 

Rock Painting: 3 p.m. Monday, June 26. Let’s rock the library and paint masterpieces on rocks! Make one to take home and one to leave at the library. Grades 6-12.

 

Flight: 3 p.m. Wednesday, June 28. Learn about paper airplanes and create one of your own. We will even test them to see how far they soar.Ages 5-12.

Tie-dye: 3 p.m. Thursday, June 29. Design your own
tie-dye creation! Materials will be provided. Ages 5-12.

Forensics Lab: 3 p.m. Friday, June 30. Learn how to solve mysteries! Investigate fingerprints and analyze handwriting samples. Reservations are required;
call 386-822-6430. Ages 8-14.

 

Escape Room: 3 p.m. Monday, July 3. The doors
close behind you, and you can’t get out. Work together quickly. You have 15 minutes to solve the mystery and escape! Grades 6-12.

Bubble Party: 3 p.m. Wednesday, July 5. Bubbles aren’t just for little kids! Create bubbles with a hula-hoop and make bubble snakes and even a craft. Subject to change in case of inclement weather. Ages 5-12.

Soda-tab Jewelry: 3 p.m. Thursday, July 6. Use soda tabs to make one-of-a-kind creations!Ages 5-12.

Health and Fitness: 3 p.m. Friday, July 7. Learn how to care for your mind and body. Exercise the fun way, make a healthy snack, and create a model heart
pump. Reservations are required; call 386-822-6430.
Ages 8-14.

Table-top Board Games: 3 p.m. Monday, July 10. Break out the board games and play against your friends. Apples to Apples? Life? You choose! Grades 6-12.

3rd Wheel Drummers: 3 p.m. Wednesday, July 12. Get in the rhythm with 3rd Wheel Drummers and become part of a drumming circle. You’ll leave feeling refreshed and revitalized. Ages 5-12.

 

 

Popsicle-stick Bracelets: 3 p.m. Thursday, July 13. Yes, you can make a bracelet out of a Popsicle stick!  Come join us to see how. Ages 5-12.

Kitchen Science Lab: 3 p.m. Friday, July 14. Create food that’s fun to make and even more fun to eat. Enjoy learning how to prepare healthy foods you can grow at home, as well as sweet treats that spoil your taste buds! Reservations are required; call 386-822-6430.
Ages 8-14.

Super Smash Brothers Brawl Tournament: 3 p.m. Monday, July 17. Compete against your frenemies to win the ultimate SSBB trophy! Players may bring their own controllers. Grades 6-12.

 

GatorLand at the Library: 3 p.m. Wednesday, July 19. Join us for this educational and entertaining show featuring a wrangler and live animals!  Ages 5-12.

Plastic Bottle Planters: 3 p.m. Thursday, July 20. Recycle water bottles to make flower planters. What
a way to use our trash!Ages 5-12.

Recycling Lab: 3 p.m. Friday, July 21. Guess how long it takes items to decompose in the landfill. Draw a trash timeline, design something new from something old, and create recycled paper pots for planting seeds. Reservations are required; call 386-822-6430. Ages 8-14.

 

 

A Night at Hogwarts: 4 to 7 p.m. Wednesday, July 26. Channel your inner wizard by participating in Hogwart’s classes and a Fantastic Beast scavenger hunt. House points will be awarded throughout the evening. The winning house will be announced at the 6 p.m. Yule Ball. Costume and dress-up are encouraged, but not required for this fun family night. All ages.